Missha Tension Pact Review

Move over BB Cushions, there’s a new kid in K-Beauty town! This summer in Korea saw the entrance of the Tension Pact; a similar design to the BB cushion compact but instead of a soaked sponge, the tension pact has a thinly-woven mesh net that distributes the product more evenly on to the puff. Several brands have come out with their versions including Missha and Etude House – I decided to try Missha.

 

Missha came out with 4 types of tension pacts – cover, natural cover, tone-up and moisture. I opted for the cover as this is their bestseller and I got it in the shade No.23.

Packaging 

As previously mentioned, the packaging is exactly like a BB cushion and comes with a puff.  I particularly like this one because the clasp is in rose gold – YEAH.

When you open up the case, you will see the mesh net which underneath contains the product. When pressed down with the puff, the product seeps through between the net which is extremely satisfying.

img_0527

Application 

Application is VERY different to the typical BB cushion. Whilst with a BB cushion I will need to go in several times to get sufficient product on my puff, with the tension pact, only one firm dab is all I need to cover my whole face! The first time trying the tension pact I pressed down hard as I would my BB cushion and loads of product came out of the net and all over my hand – epic fail. Word of caution – dab lightly! A little goes a long way. As you can see in the photo, the product is more evenly distributed on the puff in comparison to a BB cushion.

img_0530

True to its name, this particular tension pact is very high coverage, I don’t even need to wear concealer with it. Despite the high coverage though it feels incredibly lightweight on the skin which is exactly what I want in a BB cream/foundation. It’s also incredibly long lasting; I wore this for about 10 hours and had little fading. Some have said that the cushion has a high matte finish but I find that using the product sparingly (only one dab blended across my face) that the product still retains that Korean dewy glow.

Scent 

I am horrible at describing scents. The only way I can describe this is that it has that quintessential ‘Korean make up’ scent; similar to the Etude House Precious Mineral Cushion (which I love). It is only faint but very fresh, light and slightly floral. See, I told you I’m horrible at describing scents.

Would I repurchase? 

This has become my go-to product at the moment and I’m already considering stocking up on it before I leave Korea! The cover version cost 17,800 WON which is roughly £12.00 which I personally think is a bargain for such a good quality product. I am definitely keen on trying out the natural cover version (which is even cheaper at 15,800 WON!) but all in all, this cover version is the perfect product to use for a long day at work or a night out – the staying power combined with the finish and low price point just makes this product insanely good value.

Rating: 4.5 / 5

Published by

Maree Kinder

My name is Maree, a Korean adoptee who discovered Korean beauty products on my first trip back to Seoul; I’ve been hooked ever since. Come join me on my journey as I move to Korea, learn more about my past and try as many K-beauty products I can get my little hands on!

4 thoughts on “Missha Tension Pact Review

  1. Thank you Maree for this review! As mentioned on IG – I used Missha sale weekend and bought this pact with 30% price reduction! I hope I will like it as much, as you do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

